Remembering 9/11 …

nnt remembers 9-11

Today marks eight years since the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001 … and looking back, it never seems to get any easier to remember what happened that day. But it’s important that we never forget what happened and why it’s important to move forward.

We invite you to share with us in the comments where you were on 9/11/01 and what the experience was like for you.

You can read more about today’s memorials in the Associated Press article, “On 9/11, Day of Mourning Becomes Day of Service

5 Responses

  1. I was feeding my 18 month old daughter, turned on the news and saw – at first I have to say I thought it was a joke…then I stood there, crying and clinging to her. She wanted to go outside, I could not draw myself away all day. We live in the Northern VA area, so phone’s and things were down, so then I spent the better part of the morning trying to find my mom, dad and sister…it was a very sad day and today remembering continues to be very sad…though I am proud to be an American. I will never forget.

  2. The hardest part of this day for me is having to go to work … most people can turn off the TV when they’ve had enough and walk away. But it’s my job to put all the stories about 9/11 on the TV, since I work in the news. I have to sift through all the stories, memorials, file video, etc and put it on the air. The hour I produce is 6-7am PST — when many of the moments of silence take place (the second plane flies into the tower, the second tower collapses, the Pentagon crash, and the memorial begins for Shanksville, PA). It’s just a rough, stressful day. I KNOW why it’s so important to remember … but it’s still rough to put all this together every year on this day. It’s the hardest day at work all year.

    That’s the toughest part about working in news, too … having to always put the most horrible stories on the air. (Crime, terror attacks, war, etc.) It leads many of us to have very cynical, twisted senses of humor (because humor is a coping mechanism for all of us to deal with these horrible stories we report) … but some days, it just gets to us. I’ve had my rough days. Sept. 11th is always a rough day.

  3. Wow. I’m giving sgundell an anonymous hug.

  4. In Argentina, where I’m from, September 11th is Teacher’s Day! So being myself a teacher, that day I was celebrating. It was shocking from the frist moment. I heard the news on the radio frist and we all thought it was a joke gone wrong. Then I went downstairs to talk to my mom and saw the sencond plane crashing into tower 2 (on cnn international)even then my brain refused to accept what was happening.I went to the bank to collect my salary later and everybody was like frozen, talking in a low voice and wondering how long it would take before ww3 started. Since 2001, teacher’s day in Argentina has never been the same.

Leave a Reply

