Maggie Stiefvater’s “Shiver” could be the next teen werewolf movie sensation

other obsessions

We’ve mentioned Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver here at NNT before … now, it’s been reported that Unique Pictures has acquired the movie rights to her novel, the first in a trilogy:

It’s only been in stores since August, but Magie Stiefvater’s quickly best-selling Young Adult novel Shiver is headed for the big screen.shiver_cover

Variety reports that Unique Features has picked up the movie rights to Shiver – the first in a planned trilogy about a human-werewolf romance.

Sound familiar? It should. Supernatural books are huge right now in Young Adult literature – thanks in large part to Stephenie Meyer’s best-selling Twilight Saga and its feature film franchise. Sure, Twilight is mostly about vampires – but any fan will tell you that werewolves are also a big part of the series, especially starting with the second book, New Moon. (The movie adaptation “The Twilight Saga: New Moon” is due in theaters November 20th).

Shiver tells the story of Grace and Sam. As a girl, Grace is saved by a yellow-eyed wolf. For years, she watches the wolves in the woods behind her house – until one day, she meets a boy with eerily familiar yellow eyes. He is her wolf – blessed with taking his human form in the summer. The two fall in love, but as winter approaches again – supernatural forces threaten their romance.

Read more HERE.

Have you read Shiver? Tell us your thoughts in the comments!

11 Responses

  1. Wow! That’s great. I read it after you guys recommended it, and I’m glad I did! The book was great!
    Still shocked it got picked up so quickly. I didn’t even know that it was only the first in a trilogy.

    • I absolutley LOVED the first two books shiver and linger and now i cant wait for the movie!!! but i think when they make this movie they will be going for something like the twilight movies and that really upsets mee…..

  2. yeaah, i read it when youu guys recommended it too and i really loved it! im so glad that maggie is writing another because i thought it was amazing!

  3. Yeah I bought the book after I saw it at the Library… My name was a main character so I read it… Turns out I fell in love with the book! I can’t wait for the movie and the sequel… More me time… I cried the last idk how many chapters… I fell like a wimp!

  4. This book was amazing. It had me hooked from the first page. Yes, there will be a second book called Linger, and it will be in bookstores August, 2010. Also, the third book is called Forever, and the date to which it will be released is TBA.

  5. I finished the book in 3 days and i loved it im thrilled that maggie as writing another book i loved the last couple of pages

  6. Hey, yea i read it, i found it in a bookstore and bought it to see what it was like…i LOVED it! It’s realllly good. but i think it is unfair to compare it to the Twilight saga, odon’t get me wrong i LVE the series, read it all in 6 days lol but they are really different, but yes they are similar in werewoves. ANyways…the next one is gonna be gooood! it is about Grace and her possibly turning into a wolf…Ohhh goooD!he he, july 30 is TOO far away. oh well at least i;ll have eclipse to curp my wolfish needs to then ha ha.

  7. ok, I just finished “shiver”, like an hour ago, and I was so depressed after I read the last chapter because I didn’t want it to be over, but im ok now that I know theres gonna be 2 more books! and im tottly excited about it becoming a movie! this book is like my absolute favorite book of all time!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. ok, I just finished reading “shiver”, like an hour ago, and I was so depressed after I read the last chapter because I didn’t want it to be over, but im ok now that I know theres gonna be 2 more books! and im tottly excited about it becoming a movie! this book is like my absolute favorite book of all time!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  9. i love this book and i finished it in 3 days and i want linger but i have to wait 5 mounths

  10. sam is so hot i wish i was grace to be with sam.and i need linger and my sis loves it to i am a werewolf in real life but i dont tell ppl and i am just like sam i turn in to a normal wolf when i am cold and i controle it

Leave a Reply

