Meet our newest staff members!

home_banner

We here at Novel Novice Twilight are excited to bring on board three new staff members (that’s in addition to our other two recent additions). We’re really excited to see the site grow and expand, and we think our new staffers will really help us out. Please give them a warm welcome! In no particular order, here’s a little bit more about each of them:

*          *          *

Meet Melody!
My name is Melody. I am 33 years old and happily married to my childhood sweetheart. Together we have two school-aged boys who both play a lot of hockey and golf. I am a horticulturalist – and I love playing in mine and other people’s gardens, but right now I am lucky enough to have the opportunity to focus on my boys. In my spare time – when I’m not taking one of the boys to one of their sporting events or practices I like to cook, read, write and re-design my garden. I enjoy Yoga, curling and am training for a half-marathon.

How did you find out about Twilight?
I’ve always been a reader – and books about vampires always seem to make it into my pile. However I didn’t get around to reading the Twilight series until AFTER I watched the movie. (My hubby gets the points for suggesting the movie.) The very next morning I went and bought Twilight, the next day I was back at the book store buying New Moon. Not finding a copy of Eclipse in the town where I live, I drove to the next city and bought both Eclipse and Breaking Dawn. I devoured the entire series in just under a week. The movie was good – the books were amazing.

What is your favorite book in the series?
My favourite book in the (official) series is Eclipse. I didn’t realize how much of a sappy romantic I was until Edward left in New Moon. I really enjoyed Midnight Sun – I loved Edward’s point of view.

Team Edward or Team Jacob?
Team Edward – all the way! I guess I’m a vampire girl.

On a scale of 1 to 10 how would you rate your obsession as a fan?
I’m at a comfortable 7-8 now that I’ve read the series several times over (okay 6 times). In the beginning I couldn’t get enough Twilight. I really like fan fics and although I’ve written a few pieces I haven’t posted any of my own stories yet. I have tried reading other series since reading Twilight – but nothing has caught my attention so wholly. I think I’ve finally hit a happy medium – my boys don’t think I’m too crazy and my husband doesn’t want to commit me. I am re-introducing myself to housework and television. I don’t think I could lend my Twilight Saga books to anyone just yet – but the books aren’t carried in my bag everywhere I go either.

*         *          *

Meet Lee!
I am a mother of two wonderful children (both of whom are too young to read Twilight…yet) and I work full time in the customer service field.

How did you find out about Twilight?
Really, when the movie was announced. I was a subscriber to Entertainment Weekly and saw the cover spread on Rob & Kristen getting the leads…and I thought, “What’s a Twilight?” Then I found out more information about it and I resisted reading it, because I didn’t want to buy into the hype. I mean, c’mon. The entire concept sounded corny to me, a mom in my 30s. Well, I wanted to see the movie but my friends who had read the book and watched the movie recommended I read the book first. I did, after borrowing a co-worker’s copy. Then, I fell in LOVE. I’ve been hopeless about it ever since.

What is your favorite book in the series?
Eclipse, hands down. I am reading it again right now. The drama of the newborns throughout the book, leading to the end. The jealously between Jake and Edward. The leg-hitching scene. {squeal!} Sorry, I need to take a moment…

Team Edward or Team Jacob?
Team Edward. He’s romantic, smart, talented…his devotion to his beloved Bella. What’s not to like? (I could go on, but I think this is a family site. LOL.)

On a scale of 1 to 10 how would you rate your obsession as a fan?
Hmmmm….There are some pretty obsessive fans out there. Compared to them, I’m probably a seven. I don’t have a silver Volvo or anything, so I can’t be a 10, but I’m more obsessed than what is probably healthy. I’m still waiting for my husband to sparkle…

*          *          *

Meet Stephanie #2 (which is what we’re calling her for now, ’cause we have another Stephanie on staff, too!)
At the moment, I’m a 30-year-old, stay-at-home mom to a 3-year-old boy and 1-year-old girl, but I have a master’s degree in English and have worked at a couple newspapers doing copy editing and page layout. Until this past August, I’d lived my whole life in northeast Ohio, but we moved to Mobile, AL, for my husband’s work. Not sure how long we’ll be on our “Southern adventure.”

How did you find out about Twilight?
I’d seen the beautiful book covers in the bookstores a couple times but didn’t actually buy Twilight until just after the movie came out and there was all the press coverage. I had just had our second child and needed a diversion from mommyhood. I actually gave up much-needed sleep in order to finish the series as fast as possible!

What is your favorite book in the series?
Hands down, “New Moon” is my favorite — it’s so unexpected for an author to “kill off” a main character (or send him away) that I was impressed at how well Stephenie Meyer handled this, and how well she filled the gap with Jacob. Plus, it’s just such a moody, dark book that you can wallow in. The cliff diving scene is just amazing (can’t wait to see it on film!). Plus, Jacob reminds me of some of my guy friends growing up.

Team Edward or Team Jacob?
I am completely Team Switzerland! I love them both for very different reasons — Edward for his devotion and intensity and Jacob for his sense of humor and down-to-earth personality.

On a scale of 1 to 10 how would you rate your obsession as a fan?
I have my “10” moments but I think I’m usually around an “8.” I have two young children so I don’t have the stamina to always maintain a “10!”

*          *          *

Learn about our entire staff here!

Leave a Reply

