If You Like Twilight….. Beautiful Creatures (Review)

Summary: Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she’s struggling to conceal her power and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps, and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town’s oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

(Source: Beautiful Creatures Official Book Site)

Review: Little Brown has done it again! Beautiful Creatures’ story of young love is quite alluring. While many of the themes aren’t new to fans of young adult lit (love against all odds, conformity, searching for identity), the characters are rich and intriguing. A lush Gothic setting screams for a screen adaptation of this action packed book. Nate makes for a great male narrator whom young girls will come to adore. Lena’s hesitation and complexity concerning her role in society offers girls an outlet for exploring their own sense identity in a world that screams for girls to fulfill fixed images.

Beautiful Creatures is a strange mixture between Harry Potter, Twilight, and Stephen King’s Carrie but it works. I can say with ease that it is one of my favorite young adult books of 2009. Have you read Beautiful Creatures? If so, what are your thoughts?

Advertisements

3 Responses

  1. […] Think Harry Potter meets Twilight meets amazing-ness. I have already reviewed this book before. click here to read my thoughts! […]

  2. his name is ethan not nate

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: