Preview the Twilight Graphic Novel!


From EW comes this preview of the Twilight graphic novel/comic book … and I gotta say, it looks awesome:

Meyer talked to us about all this, and more. Here are a few snippets from our conversation:

The text of your original novel is boiled down so carefully that it doesn’t feel like anything is missing. Were you the one who did that?

I was definitely involved.  I didn’t do the original “script” for the book, so to speak.  But when I got the dialogue with the images, I did a lot of tinkering. In a couple of places, I asked for missing scenes to be inserted.  For example, the conversation in the car that Bella and Edward have after she faints in Biology.

How does the feeling of reading the graphic novel compare to that of reading the original? Does it bring something new to the experience for you?

For me, it takes me back to the days when I was writing Twilight.  It’s been a while since I was really able to read Twilight; there is so much baggage attached to that book for me now.  It seems like all I can see are the mistakes in the writing.  Reading Young’s version brought me back to the feeling I had when I was writing and it was just me and the characters again.  I love that.  I thank her for it.

See more here. A full ten-page preview of the comic will be available in this Friday’s edition of EW. The graphic novel is set for release on March 16th.

For the comments: What do you think? Will you buy & read the Twilight graphic novel?

One Response

  1. […] becomes a graphic novel! Posted on January 20, 2010 by sgundell From our sister site Novel Novice Twilight … check out this preview of the upcoming Twilight graphic novel, based on Stephenie […]

Leave a Reply

