5 Reasons Twilight Fans Should Watch “The Lost Boys”


When you’re done rewatching that 10-second teaser for The Twilight Saga: Eclipse, why not check out the 1987 movie The Lost Boys.

Here are five reasons why:

5. Pay Tribute to Corey Haim

Corey Haim, one of the actors in the movie, was found dead this morning from an apparent overdose. It’s sad news, and I’m about to go watch The Lost Boys myself, in his honor. It’s also why I’m making this post, in the first place. RIP Corey Haim.

4. The Coreys

The Lost Boys has a pretty fantastic cast — and in addition to Corey Haim, it also features Corey Feldman. Together, they were known as “The Coreys” and appeared in several movies together.

3. A Young Kiefer Sutherland

Before he became known as Agent Jack Bauer on the hit show “24,” Kiefer Sutherland was known for playing a bit of a bad-ass. He also made vampires cool (and sexy!) before Edward Cullen.

2. Classic ’80s Cinema

Sure, there are always great new movies coming out. But it’s also important to catch up on important and truly great movies of years gone by. And while I wouldn’t necessarily classify The Lost Boys as a “good” movie (in the sense that, say, the Academy Awards people would think) — but it’s a truly GREAT movie to watch. It’s fun. It’s campy. It’s a classic!

1. It made vampires cool before Twilight

Yes, that’s right. The Lost Boys is a vampire movie. And it made vampires cool years and years before Stephenie Meyer dreamed up Twilight and Edward Cullen. Watching The Lost Boys is like brushing up on vampire pop culture history.

For the comments: Are you a fan of The Lost Boys? Tell us why YOU think Twilight fans should watch it? What other Corey Haim movies do you love?

5 Responses

  1. I saw this movie years ago and I loved it. It is one of my favorite vampire films ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I love this movie. I’m not a vampire fan and I don’t usually like them BUT THIS was one I loved and is one of my favorites after Twilight of course hehe .. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I can’t believe he has gone. What a truly truly sad loss.

  4. wow those r some pretty good reasons and the trailer looks good so im gonna watch it 2 lol………agian

  5. Love Lost Boys! I’ll watch it today too, in tribute.

    I was so sad to hear about Corey Haim’s death. Although I always loved Feldman more, I was into both Coreys way back in the day.

    There was a Lost Boys 2 recently, straight to DVD I think, Corey Feldman returned but Corey Haim only had a cameo at the very end. It was much more gory than the first Lost Boys and not nearly as good. (and no Keifer Sutherland or the other vamps)

    I just happened to be checking both Coreys’ IMDB pages this past weekend and saw that a Lost Boys 3 was in production.

Leave a Reply

