“A Love Story” Fan Fiction Challenge Winners!

Congratulations to our winners for the Jan-Feb 2010 A Love Story Fan Fiction Challenge!  For this challenge, we asked you to write about two characters in love, sticking to canon couples and storyline.

Our top three entries each get to post this banner with their stories on their personal websites or fan fiction sites.

First Place: Natural Equilibrium  by  Anné Marie

This beautiful story set during Breaking Dawn captures the unique love between Alice and Jasper.  As the Twilight Saga is viewed through Bella’s eyes, we don’t get to see much of the relationship between Alice and Jasper, and while Anné Marie may show us a little bit of a different side of Jasper, it still fits very much into canon.

Second Place: When it Rains by Natilie Sawada

Renesmee is another character we don’t get to see fully developed in the books.  This story shows us a tender moment between her and Jake, set about twenty years after Breaking Dawn.

Third Place: Betrayed by TwilightFreak#1

Because we view her through the eyes of Bella and Jake, Leah Clearwater may be one of the most misunderstood characters of the series.  Known as a “harpy” or other less polite terms, it’s easy to forget why Leah is as bitter as she is.  This story recaps some of the events surrounding Sam’s first werewolf phase, the very beginning of Leah’s change in character.

* * *

Congrats to the winners! See past challenge winners here, and be sure to check out our March-April 2010 Eclipse Challenge … the deadline is April 30th!

9 Responses

  1. I’ve earned 3rd place! Pretty cool! Congratulations to the other winners of the contest! 🙂

  2. This proves I do live inside a bubble. I earned first place and I’ve only just found out!!! Wow!! Thanks!!!
    Congratulations to the other two authors!

    • Thanks for the congratulations. I didn’t read your story but it won 1st place so I’m sure it was great! 🙂

      If you read my story, I’d love to know what you think.

    • Wait – update! I just read your story, “Natural Equilibrium” (I think I spelled that wrong). Anyway, you’re an amazing author! My 3rd place story wasn’t nearly that good (but that’s why you won 1st place and I won 3rd)! How long did it take you to write that? And how much editing did you do? That was amazing! I’m so impressed!
      🙂
      🙂
      🙂

  3. I haven’t read your story yet, but I do mean to, soon (college madness this week). I love Leah :).
    This story in particular took me a good couple of weeks. The first drabble was a bare skeleton. I did lots of editing. I married my thesaurus and talked to no one else during those two weeks. Then I had it betaed, because I’m completely grammar-obsessed ;). It’s incredible how much you can improve with the help of a good beta, a dictionary and a thesaurus.
    Not to advertise, but I’ve just written a follow-up to this story, which you can find on FF.net under the user name Anne Maria. If you want, PM me there and we can keep talking in private.

    • I haven’t exactly married my Thesaurus, but it certaintly does help! It drives me crazy when there are only like 2 synonyms for a word though. For example, “suddenly”. Instead of suddenly, I could use abruptly, without warning, or unexpectedly, but that’s it. It drives me nuts!

      Anyway, your story was great. I wish mine was that good!

    • Just checked out your username on http://www.fanfiction.net. Wow – you like Twilight AND Star Wars! I’m a total Star Wars fanatic – I was obsessed with it for 2 years straight and now I know pretty much everything that I will ever need to know about the saga.

      • I’ve been a Star Wars fan since the 80s. (Gosh that makes me feel old!) Now my son is getting into it. It’s neat how it transcends generations. My father got me hooked on it and now my son is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

