30 Days of Eclipse: Fiery Quotes

Every Monday during 30 Days of Eclipse, we’ll be bringing you some of the most memorable quotes from the third book in the Twilight saga.

First up? Fiery quotes.

Stephenie Meyers introduces the dichotomy of hot and cold – symbolizing many, many relationships throughout this epic tale – by starting Eclipse with the Robert Frost poem “Fire and Ice.” A lot is implied through just those few lines of powerful verse.

We all know Jacob’s mighty warm (“I run at a toasty one-oh-eight point nine these days. I’ll have you sweating in no time.”), in drastic comparison to Edward’s super-coolness. But we’re not only going by the literal definition of “hot” or “fiery” for these quotes – they might be on fire because the person is saying them in anger, excitement, love, passion, or desperation.

So here are some of the best fiery quotes in Eclipse. Did your favorite make the list?

  1. “I think you were just worried that if you really forced her to choose, she might not choose you.” ~ Jacob, page 497
  2. “If you’d had more of a life outside of Edward Cullen, it might not have been like that.” ~ Charlie, page 12
  3. “If I’d never left, you wouldn’t feel the need to go risk your life to comfort a dog.” ~ Edward, page 33
  4. “The fortune-telling bloodsucker can’t see us? Seriously? That’s excellent!” ~ Jacob, page 104
  5. “I am a neutral country. I am Switzerland.” ~ Bella, page 143
  6. “You were worried I wouldn’t like you?” ~ Edward, page 273
  7. “Bella, I love you. And I want you to pick me instead of him.” ~ Jacob, page 327
  8. “Am I the only one who has to get old? I get older every stinking day!” ~ Bella, page 119
  9. “I think it’s easier for you to be near me when I’m not human, because you don’t have to pretend that you’re not attracted to me.” ~ Jacob, page 478
  10. “I’m not saying you don’t love him. I’m not stupid. But it’s possible to love more than one person at a time, Bella.” ~ Jacob, page 481
  11. “She is mine. I didn’t say I would fight fair.” ~ Edward, page 341

Next week, naturally, we’ll be quoting the opposite of this week’s subject matter – icy, cold quotes. Stay tuned!

3 Responses

  1. Gah. I really think I need to go re-read ECLIPSE now …

  2. Love the quotes. It’s really hard to choose, but I think Eclipse is my favorite book of the saga. Of course, whichever one I am rwading at the time feels like my favorite!

  3. I really dislike Edward saying “she IS mine”. I know it’s true, but I hate that he sounds so possessive about it.

Leave a Reply

