Fan Fiction Challenge: One Fine Summer Day

Our May-June 2010 Wedding Fan Fiction Challenge has ended! Click here for info on how to vote!

July-August 2010 Fan Fiction Challenge:
One Fine Summer Day

For this Fan Fiction Challenge, we’re leaving it very open-ended.  Let your creativity fly!

Choose any character(s) from the Twilight universe — no matter how major or minor — and write a story about how they are spending their summer.  Your story can take place at any time: before Twilight, during the saga timeline, or after Breaking Dawn.  Your only restrictions are to keep your story PG-13 and to remain within the canon Twilight universe.  This means that your characters need to stay consistent with their personalities in the books and that your story should be able to fit into the storyline as if it were part of the original story.

Your story can be funny, serious, romantic, angsty, etc.  It just needs to take place during the summer.

Rules & Guidelines:

  • Stories must use proper grammar & spelling; any story with frequent grammatical & spelling errors will be automatically disqualified.
  • Please use a beta. A beta is a person who helps you edit and improve your story.  One place to find a qualified beta is Project Team Beta.  Fill out their Story Application to get started. Be sure to give yourself ample time if you choose to use a beta. It can take up to a week to go through the beta process.  Include the contest deadline in your story application so the betas are aware.
  • Entries should be at least 500 words long.
  • Please keep the content of your story to PG-13 or lower rating.
  • You may submit as many stories as you like, but only one will be eligible to win judge’s choice.

How to Enter:

After you have written your story and edited and perfected it, upload it to fanfiction.netusing the directions on the website.  Then send us a Private Message (PM) to our fanfiction.net account with the link to your story.  If for any reason you are unable to send a PM to our account, you can email christie.novelnovice@gmail.com.

No submissions will be accepted after the deadline.  PLEASE do not wait until the last minute.  Sign up for your fanfiction.net account early if you don’t already have one — it’s OK to have an account without any stories right away.

If you have problems signing up for an account or submitting your story on fanfiction.net, please email me at christie.novelnovice@gmail.com so we can work it out.  Again, please don’t wait until the last minute.

Novel Novice Twilight’s fanfiction.net profile is here: http://www.fanfiction.net/~novelnovicetwilight

Any questions please leave a comment here or send an email.

Deadline:

All entries are due by 11:59PM (PST) on Tuesday, August 31.

The winning entries will be featured here on NNT, and the winners will receive a graphic banner to post with their stories.

*          *          *

See our past winners here!

You can also find all sorts of Twilight fan fiction on one of our affiliate websites: Twilight Archives.

36 Responses

  1. Christie, I LOVE this writing prompt!! You always come up with such creative ones, but this one may be my favorite yet … I’m even tempted to write something myself (even though I can’t enter the contest).

    I’ll make a sidebar & winner’s graphic ASAP! 🙂

  2. Oh, this looks so cool! But I have a quick question. Are betas advised or required? I don’t always finish my stories in time to have them betaed. I can if I have to, and it’s not a bad idea, but I just want to know if it’s required. Thanks! 🙂

    • Betas are highly recommended but not required. I wouldn’t know if you used a beta or not, unless your entry has so many grammatical errors it’s obvious you didn’t. Often times, we get entries that have many, many grammatical errors (to the point it’s difficult to read) and those entries are turned away.

      Betas can be so helpful, even if your grammar is generally good. They can help you improve your story, your writing, your characters, etc. If you can finish your story in time, I highly recommend getting your entry beta’d. But I totally hear what you are saying. I am the QUEEN of writing until the last minute for contest entries. 🙂 I’ve been known to email my beta friends asking if anyone can look at my story THAT NIGHT because of the deadline.

      • It’s official – I’m using a Beta from Project Team Beta for my contest entry. I just submitted a Story Application and will hopefully get a response soon. My story is called “Scars of an Imprint”. Hopefully it will soon be betaed; thanks for your answer to my question! 🙂

  3. Is it a story about just one day or the whole summer?

  4. Can you tell me please what are the rules on keeping it pg-13? You see Emmett will insist on blaspheming – a bit – does that disqualify my story?

    • For consistency, we’ll go with the definition twilighted.net uses for their fanfiction site:

      PG-13: Parental guidance is advised for readers age 12 and under. Stories in this category may contain moderate language and more advanced themes of violence, themes of sensuality or sexuality, and other similar content including brief or implied nudity of a non-sexual nature, and drug/alcohol use by adults.

      What is not allowed under this rating:

      Excessive bad language or any profanity of a sexual nature.
      Excessive violence.
      Explicit or implied nudity of a sexual nature.
      Explicit or strongly implied sexual activity.
      Drug and/or alcohol use by underage characters.

      if you have a specific question about something in your story, you can email me at christie.novelnovice@gmail.com

  5. 1. Is there a maximum length?
    2. Does “canon Twilight universe” include the films? I’m thinking mostly of wardrobe, jewelry (i.e. Cullen crest) and references to conversations (i.e. lines in the screenplays but not in the books).

    • 1. No maximum length

      2. While you may use elements from the movies, if there are discrepancies, go by the book. So, referencing the Cullen crest or the Quiluete tattoo would be OK, I think, but if a conversation happened different b/w book and screenplay, go with the book.

      If you aren’t sure about something in particular for your story, you’re welcome to email me at christie.novelnovice@gmail.com and we can talk about it.

  6. Thanks for the quick reply!

  7. I was wondering if I could do the summer between Eclipse and Breaking Dawn in Edward’s POV?

  8. If I enter more than one story, will all of them be read and elligible to win? Or will only one of my enteries be read?

  9. When will the winners for the Wedding competition be able to be viewed??

  10. Could I submit a story that has an original character or two in it or does it have to be all characters from the book?

    • As long as your story fits into the canon universe, that’s fine. (ie your original character can’t be Bella’s sister, because Bella doesn’t have a sister.)

      Your main character should be one from the books, but there can be other people that character interacts with that aren’t from the books.

      Does that make sense?

  11. Yes thank you! I’ll probably just add a little bit more with the Volturi in mine.

  12. Is the entry allowed to be written in the third person?

    • Yes, but try to still have one clear, main character. For example, the Harry Potter series is written in 3rd person but Harry is clearly the main character even though some parts focus on other characters.

      • For the character I’m writing, there’ll be much more detail and content if it is done using third person, so thank you 🙂

  13. Would it be okay if I had Bella suffering from hay fever??

    • If you can fit it into canon, yes. For example, I’m pretty sure vampires can’t have hay fever, so your story would have to take place before her transformation. And make it logical as to why throughout 4 books she never mentioned it.

  14. Do the stories get read as they are entered or after the challenge officially ends?

    • My goal is to read them as they come in and reply to the author to verify, but real life isn’t working out that way. :-/

      I haven’t read any of the One Summer Day entries yet.

      I’m hoping to get the entries posted on the ff profile by Friday, preferably tomorrow, but we’ll see how that goes. I know, I still need to get the winners announced from the Wedding challenge.

      Thanks for your patience, everyone! I know it’s hard to wait when you’re so excited. 🙂 End of the week… *crosses fingers*

  15. TwilightFreak#1,

    I got your entries, no worries. I can’t find your email address and you have PMs disabled on FF.net so I couldn’t contact you… Hope you see this…

  16. When will the next challenge be posted?

Leave a Reply

